The Dever Society was founded in 1990 to combat the threat of a new town at Micheldever Station, in the heart of rural Hampshire. Our main objectives are to conserve, protect and celebrate Hampshire’s rural heartland. The Hampshire Downs and the Dever Valley are a unique resource, not only for local residents, but for everyone who visits and enjoys the countryside. The area is also an essential feature of the county‚Äôs agricultural and tourist economy.


The Dever Society is supported by over 5,700 members, drawn from Hampshire and throughout the UK. It is affiliated to the Campaign to Protect Rural England.

As an independent registered charity, we rely entirely on voluntary donations to continue our work. Nevertheless, ordinary membership remains free.

The Dever Society’s Executive Committee

President – Khalid Aziz LVO DL FRSA
Chairman – Douglas Paterson
Vice Chairman – (position vacant)
Hon Treasurer – James Weaver
Hon Secretary – Charles Hobbs
Officer – James Drewer

The Dever Society’s Constitution

The Dever Society’s Privacy Notice